Shin Megami Tensei 5: Everything That Unlocks In New Game Plus

Shin Megami Tensei 5 is the game that keeps on giving. Not only does it supply players with a hefty dose of demon goodness, themes, and, heck, even endings, it also comes with not one, but two New Game Plus modes. Needless to say, this adds loads of replay value to an already lengthy, pseudo-open world experience.

Completing Shin Megami Tensei 5 will unlock both Newborn and Reborn modes. These are your New Game Plus options, and each one provides new ways to play the game. Whether you want to bump up the challenge or go on a murder spree, Shin Megami Tensei 5 has you covered.

What Is Newborn Mode?

Selecting Newborn will let you replay Shin Megami Tensei 5 all over again, from level 1, with a few added extras to make the journey to Godhood a little bit easier. You will retain your Demon Compendium progress, as well as a few Miracles and all your Fusions.

This is the kind of mode you should pick if you want to bump up the difficulty for a harder experience, but still want to retain some semblance of progression from your last playthrough. The combat in Shin Megami Tensei 5 is arguably its best aspect, so having the option to experience it again, mostly from scratch, is pretty appealing.

Data Carried Over In Newborn

  • Enemy Info
  • Demon Compendium
  • Unlocked Fusion
  • Certain Miracles

What Is Reborn Mode?

Reborn Mode is your traditional New Game Plus mode. This is for people who want a real power kick after slogging through hordes of demons and deities. You carry over practically everything from your first run, including Nahobino’s level, giving you godlike power from the very start.

Additionally, you keep your party from the end of the game, as well as the entirety of your Demon Compendium. You don’t carry over everything mind you, so there is some incentive to do a bit of exploring to regain your full might, such as finding Talismans.

Data Carried Over In Reborn

  • Nahobino’s stats, levels, and Miracles
  • Demons in your party
  • Macca
  • Items (minus key items)
  • Glory

Source: Read Full Article